Call: (812) 584.6786 | Email:


Blog Subtitle

Friday 4.19.2019

Friday 4.19.2019

PLEASE ALLOW YOURSELF 2 HOURS IN ORDER TO COMPLETE THIS WOD… If you only have an hour, expect NOT to finish.

Every Easter season, many CrossFit boxes and/or churches around the world host what is called the Jesus WOD.

The Jesus WOD is done as a means of aligning Christian beliefs physically, mentally, and spiritually. It is not intended to grandstand an athlete’s ability… it is not designed to “measure-up” to what Jesus encountered in His crucifixion… it is not a typical CrossFit workout… and it IS NOT REQUIRED.

The Jesus WOD is particularly brutal. Some participants have been able to finish it as prescribed; others have found that they had to scale-down the weight as the workout wore-on; all participants have found that it helps them better grasp the amount of suffering Jesus endured. PLEASE BE WARNED: this workout – perhaps more than any other CrossFit workout – taxes most athletes beyond their limits mentally and physically. SEVERAL have reported needing a day or two to heal-up after it is all said and done. Here is the workout as prescribed…

14 rounds for time of:

10 deadlifts (95/65)

10 squat cleans (95/65)

10 push-press (95/65)

50 ft of walking lunges with barbell on back + walk back to starting point

Athletes may only “de-load” the barbell from their control during rounds 3, 7, and 9. As these three rounds are completed, the athlete must place the barbell on the ground, pick-up a Sandbag (100/70), and complete 7 Turkish get-ups (for a total of 21 TGUs across the three rounds).

The workout represents the 14 Stations of the Cross and the three time Jesus fell to the ground.

1 Jesus is condemned to death

2 Jesus carries his cross

3 Jesus falls the first time

4 Jesus meets his mother

5 Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus carry the cross

6 Veronica wipes the face of Jesus

7 Jesus falls the second time

8 Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem

9 Jesus falls the third time

10 Jesus is stripped of his garments

11 Crucifixion: Jesus is nailed to the cross

12 Jesus dies on the cross

13 Jesus is taken down from the cross

14 Jesus is laid in the tomb

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top